Previous
Stolen Domain Name Attorney
domain name disputes
stolen domain name attorney
domain name attorney disputes
Next
  • Recover Your Domain Names
  • Fixed Fees - Fast Recovery
  • Guaranteed Results or No Fees

Domain Name Hijacking by a Hospital

Here’s an example of  a large, powerful organization taking a domain name which is commonly referred to as domain name hijacking. Domain name hijacking occurs when an entity, usually a large multi national corporation, but in this case a hospital, uses their attorneys and deep pockets to take a domain name away from an individual.

Loma Linda University Adventist Health Sciences Center, a United States non-profit organization filed a UDRP complaint against JM Xtrade, Inc regarding the domain names <lomalinda.org> and <lomalinda.net> (the “Domain Names”). The domain names are clearly generic and refer to a very well known geographic location in California and at least a dozen mexican restaurants that I know of personally that use the Loma Linda as their identifing mark. By the way, the seafood enchilidas at the Loma Linda in the south lower highlands area of Denver are great! A little spicy but great flavor.

Respondent (the guy that owned the domain names) made one mistake. He had links and other information related to the Loma Linda hospitals. That’s the only nugget that the arbiter could hold onto in order to justify transfering the domain names to the hospital. If the individual would have just had information on the town Loma Linda then there is no way the domain names get hijacked. An unfornate situation for the owner of the domain names.

What is a little weird is that Loma Linda hospitals didn’t even file for federal trademarks. They relied on their common law rights.

Leave a Comment

Eddy Merckx Recovers Domain Name After 9 Years

Eddy Merckx manufactures very nice, high end road bikes, and is the namesake of a famous road racer. Unfortunately, someone else owned their domain name. But after 9 years they were able to get it back and will start using it as their primary domain. This shows the benefits of using an experienced domain name attorney to to protect and recover ones domain name names from cyber squatters.

Procedural History

The Complaint was filed with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center (the “Center”) on January 19, 2009. On January 21, 2009, the Center transmitted by email to Go Daddy a request for registrar verification in connection with the domain name at issue. On January 21, 2009, Go Daddy transmitted by email to the Center its verification response and provided the contact details for the Respondent and confirmed that the Respondent is listed as the Registrant. In response to a notification by the Center that the Complaint was administratively deficient, the Complainant filed an amendment to the Complaint on January 26, 2009. The Center verified that the Complaint together with the amendment to the Complaint satisfied the formal requirements of the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Policy”), the Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Rules”), and the WIPO Supplemental Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Supplemental Rules”).

In accordance with the Rules, paragraphs 2(a) and 4(a), the Center formally notified the Respondent of the Complaint, and the proceedings commenced on February 2, 2009. In accordance with the Rules, paragraph 5(a), the due date for a response was February 22, 2009. The Response was filed with the Center on February 15, 2009.

The Center appointed Charné Le Roux as the sole panelist in this matter on February 24, 2009. The Panel finds that it was properly constituted. The Panel has submitted the Statement of Acceptance and Declaration of Impartiality and Independence, as required by the Center to ensure compliance with the Rules, paragraph 7.

Factual Background

The Complainant is a Belgium corporation and owner of the trade mark EDDY MERCKX. The Complainant provided evidence of an International registration for the trade mark dated December 7, 1981 and December 27, 1972. It also provided evidence of the registration of the trade mark in Benelux on June 16, 1981 and a Community Trade Mark registration dated January 9, 2007.

The Complainant has used the EDDY MERCKX trade mark for over 27 years in connection with various goods but bicycles in particular. It is the owner of the domain name <eddymerckx.be>. EDDY MERCKX refers to a famous cyclist i.e. Mr. Eddy Merckx. The trade mark appears to be very widely known as supported by the results of a Google search for EDDY MERCKX provided by the Complainant.

The owner of the Disputed Domain Name is Irfan Khalil. The Disputed Domain Name was registered on March 23, 2000. The website attached to the Disputed Domain Name appears to be a parking page.

Paragraph 4(b) of the Policy provides a non-exclusive list of factors, any one of which may demonstrate bad faith.

While there is Respondent’s claim that the sponsored and other links are for non- competing items, the Respondent also denies that the parking site was connected to the said website with his knowledge. Previous panels have on numerous occasions found that respondents are ultimately responsible for automatically generated content on their disputed domain names. See, e.g., Grundfos A/S v. Texas International Property Associates, WIPO Case No. D2007-1448, NVT Birmingham, LLC d/b/a CBS 42 WIAT-TV v. ZJ, WIPO Case No. D2007-1079 and Grisoft, s.r.o. v. Original Web Ventures Inc., WIPO Case No. D2006-1381. Even if the Panel would accept the Respondent’s lack of knowledge of and responsibility for the parking page, then the alternative would be that the Respondent is passively holding the Disputed Domain Name. Previous panels have not hesitated to hold that the lack of active use of a disputed domain name or the use of the disputed domain name as a parking site, coupled with factors which include that the trade mark is well known, may constitute bad faith.

While the Panel is not prepared to find that the Respondent in this matter has deliberately concealed his identity or that it is impossible to conceive a circumstance in which good faith use could be made of the Disputed Domain Name for example as a fan site, the Respondent’s inactive use of the Disputed Domain Name, which is identical to a well known trade mark, for 9 years, have persuaded the Panel that the requirements of paragraph 4(b) of the Policy have been met.

It is necessary to comment on the Respondent’s contention that the Complainant has lost its rights to claim the Disputed Domain Name under a doctrine of laches. In a similar case involving the domain name <tomcruise.com> (Tom Cruise v. Network Operations Centre/Alberta Hod Rods, WIPO Case No. D2006-0560), the complainant had taken 10 years to file a complaint in connection with the domain name. A three member panel held that there is no meaningful precedent under the Policy for refusing to enforce trade mark rights on the basis of a delay in bringing a claim, and a transfer was ordered. In that case, as is the case here, the Respondent also made no argument that he has or will suffer injury because of the Complainant’s delay in initiating this proceeding. The Respondent has made no claim that he has invested any monies towards his EDDY MERCKX website. The Complainant has also not provided any firm indication, express or tacit, in connection with any consent that it may have provided to the Respondent to use its trade mark in the Disputed Domain Name. In these circumstances, the Panel is not prepared to find that the delay of the Complainant constitutes a bar against its cause of action.

Leave a Comment

Protect or Recover Your Domain Names

DomainNameAttorney.com helps you protect and or recover domain names that belong to you. Whether your domain name was taken when it was not renewed or if you are the victim of a cybersquatter, we can help.

DomainNameAttorney.com is a licensed attorney who works on a flat fee basis. This ensures that you do not end up with a huge legal bill and nothing to show for it.

Simply contact us today and we can help you in your domain name dispute.

Leave a Comment

Meg Whitman Losses Domain Name Dispute

In December 2008, former eBay CEO Meg Whitman lost a UDRP proceeding essentially because the sole panelist felt that Meg Whitman was known for eBay and not for her run at the California Governors seat.

This highlights a difficult call when filing a UDRP complaint. Do you select a single member panel or a three member panel? This was difficult case, however,  selecting a three member panel initially would have resulted in a different outcome. Of course, selecting a three member panel increases the fees involved but it helps ensure a more predictable outcome of UDRP domain name disputes.

[Read the rest of this entry...]

Leave a Comment

Domain Disputes on The Rise

The number of domain name disputes rose in 2008 and will likely continue to increase in 2009. The increased incidence of trademark heavy registrations has caused companies to be more proactive in defensive domain name registrations.

Leave a Comment